A bit of a domestic!

Comments 10 Standard

 

Its not currently going well.  I am on a bit of a downer with work and feeling trapped and overwhelmed.  I have taken to riding over the Downs, more mornings than I should and ignoring the world around me. I haven’t gone so far as  doing a Lady Godiva but I do make poor old Dobbin sweat and snort as we race up hill and down again. As my hair flies out from under my hat, it doesn’t give the impression of wild abandonment but more of being unkempt and dragging through bushes.   Its almost, but not quite, a case of ” fiddling while Rome burns!”……( or maybe Hariod will tell me its ” whilst Rome burns” )… whatever….. ( and yes, more ellipses so really poor punctuation as well )

I am also feeling slightly hacked off that we cant settle the summer sojourn due, I know, to too much choice.  Each time I suggest something LM seems more than underwhelmed which means I offer another suggestion.  Not once has he tried to seem excited or engage with the numerous ” how about this?” emails I send him. It is true he is more a sand and sandals man but I thought part of the deal when we got together was that he was going to swop some of that suburban thinking for a Life on the Wild Side  and we were going to blaze a trail through South America or swim with sharks in South Africa or at the very least ride an elephant through Malaysia.  Sadly though, I have also caught him booking his Golf Holiday in Portugal for October which again made me feel unimportant that he could settle on the October holiday but the August one remains ” pending”. GGrrrrrr!

He did suggest a weekend in Paris which made me slightly excited, but he then said that he would need to return on Saturday night ( with me, I wonder?) because he had a Golf Match for Seniors on the Sunday.

Maybe I am just expecting too much but I did think that having a ” get-away ” with the Squeeze du Jour might well have been higher up his list that getting picked for the

” Snowballs Final!”.  Sadly, it would appear that the Honeymoon period is very much over.

So I have been scouring the Internet ( again) for Holidays for Singles.  Not, I hasten to add like an 18 to 30 holiday but more for sad  old spinsters who have no one to go with them.  Currently, I am deciding on either “Burma for Third Agers” or ” Creative Writing and Yoga for Older Ladies!”.  I will let you know what I decide on

Meanwhile, I get a text from Dennis Much-Humper whose Supporting Tour of the Kinks is now over and suggests Lunch.  As he has been a finalist on Radio 4 Quiz Days and also contributed to and received terse responses from readers to Private Eye,  I feel I shouldn’t decline.  After all, its always a case of who you know, not what you know, but with Dennis it would appear he does both.  So I thought I would take Irma along because she is looking for an affaire de Coeur and Dennis is always entertaining.  If I can find Irma someone to occupy her, then life will be easier all around.

So I’ll see what happens both with Irma and Mr Much-Humper and me and the Solo Holidays, but all in all, life isn’t so rosy anymore…..Tally Ho!

10 thoughts on “A bit of a domestic!

  1. I do my photography trips alone.
    When it comes to family holidays,I default to wife and kids.. But, don’t quote me.

    I like the Kinks

    Like

  2. I think you have to ignore the world around you occasionally, but next time I’m walking over the Downs I shall take especial care to look around; especially if I hear the thunder of approaching hooves!

    Not that it’s any of my business, but I would just book something wild and exciting – elephant trekking in Norway or shark-wrestling in the Kalahari or what have you.

    Hope it works out!.

    Like

    • I have often thought about a Retreat – they do a good one near Hastings. I don’t need to talk all the time, you know. Why, when I went to Gladstones Library, I holed myself up there all weekend and spoke to no one, save to say ” one egg please – lightly boiled!”

      Liked by 1 person

  3. We are currently discussing the merits of sailing up the Dalmatian Coastline. LM is checking to see if the seas will be high in August! Always a chance of ” man over board” if this continues much longer

    Like

Leave a Reply

