Jallianwallah Bagh. Amritsar. 13th April, 1919

Comments 6 Standard

fascinating read. Raises more questions than it answers… which is, I daresay, the purpose of a good blog!

First Night History

Please welcome fellow blogger Rajiv Chopra who has written a guest post at my urging about this profound stain on British conduct in India. Thank you, Rajiv.

painting

‘I saw three men writhing in great pain and a boy of about 12. I could not leave the place. The boy asked me for water but there was no water in that place. At 2 am, a Jat who was lying entangled on the wall asked me to raise his leg. I went up to him and took hold of his clothes drenched in blood and raised him up. Heaps of bodies lay there, a number of them innocent children. I shall never forget the sight. I spent the night crying and watching…”

plaqueThe above is an excerpt from the diary of Rattan Devi, who spent the night of the 13th April, 1919, in Jallianwallah Bagh. Her husband was amongst those…

View original post 1,197 more words

6 thoughts on “Jallianwallah Bagh. Amritsar. 13th April, 1919

  1. Yes, I still think that this is one of the single most shameful events in our colonial history. It’s a great write-up by Rajiv.

    Like

Leave a Reply

